Annual Meeting of Members

2018 Annual Meeting Celebrated Fall River Electric’s 80 Years in Business!


Fall River Electric’s annual meeting of members was conducted on a rainy Saturday, June 16th at Teton High School in Driggs, ID where over eight hundred owner-members joined the Cooperative for breakfast.  Almost 1,600 ballots were cast via three methods; online, mail-in and in-person for a board election that featured a record number eleven candidates.

Brent Robson was re-elected to his district 5 board position, which includes members in the Tetonia/Felt area of Teton Valley while current board member Dede Draper, from the Ashton and southern Fremont County area, district 6, was also re-elected.

Board newcomer Brent “Husk” Crowther was the top vote-getter in a seven-way race for the district 1 board position which includes Madison and Jefferson counties. This seven-candidate race was a result of 15-year board member Dan Skene not being eligible for re-election due to having reached the term limits specified in the Cooperative’s bylaws.

Here are the voting results:

DISTRICT 1 – Madison/Jefferson Counties

Brent Crowther – 363

Wesley Donahoo – 286

Reed Miller – 259

Charles Allen – 176

Todd Marx – 110

Mike Oswald – 88

Shane Schulthies – 83

DISTRICT 5 – West Driggs/Tetonia/Felt

Brent Robson – 1,327

DISTRICT 6 – Ashton/Southern Fremont County

Dede Draper – 952

Jack Baird – 230

Shelby Tuckett – 196

Crowther has lived in the Rexburg area for over 16 years and is currently the President of Civilize, a consulting engineering firm based in Rexburg. He has an MBA in strategy and finance in addition to being a registered professional engineer. Crowther has served on the Madison Economic Partners board, the Eastern Idaho Water Rights Coalition board and currently serves on the Rexburg Area Chamber of Commerce board.

Robson has served on the Fall River Electric board for six years and was a former Teton County ID Commissioner. He lives in the Tetonia area and is self-employed in the gravel and excavation business.

Draper has been on the Fall River board for 4 years and currently serves as the board’s Secretary/Treasurer, Chair of the Administrative Committee and a representative and board member of the Idaho Consumer Owned Utilities Association (ICUA).

All three elected board members will each fill a three-year term extending into mid 2021 and will join the other six members that comprise the board charged with overseeing the business affairs of the Cooperative and ensuring it remains financially sound. All board members must live within the physical boundaries of the district seat open for election but represent all owner-members of the Cooperative.

Fall River Electric’s annual meeting for 2019 will be held at North Fremont High School in Ashton on Saturday, June 15, 2019.

Fall River Electric Cooperative’s 2013 Meeting Celebrated 75 Years!

More than eighty years ago, 90% of our rural ancestors were “living in the dark,” cooking on wood stoves, hauling water in buckets from a nearby well, putting perishable food in a stream or an icebox, and fearing the destruction that their gas or kerosene lamps could cause if accidentally knocked over inside their home or barn.

In 1938, a group of rural neighbors in the Ashton, Idaho area got together and formed Fall River Rural Electric Cooperative, Inc. This new nonprofit organization was one where everyone who received power from the Co-op was consider an owner, could vote for members to represent them on a board of directors, had a say in how the business was operated and had access to a locally based, friendly staff who was interested in answering their questions and concerns. Today, more than seventy eight years later, those same objectives and benefits of membership continue.